I love to fly, and I always try to get a window seat, ahead of the wings if possible. I make sure that I am on the best side of the plane for photo opportunities, which usually means the shady side. Those plastic windows don’t help image quality in any way, especially when the sun is hitting them! My favorite part of any flight is the long, slow descent. That’s when I feel most afloat of the surroundings. Takeoffs captivate me as well, but the acceleration and quick ascent doesn’t allow time to savor the views.

The photo I have presented for this weeks challenge is from a takeoff out of Seattle. I was happy to get my shots of Mount Rainier, but as our flight continued towards Mount Hood, I kept on clicking. Even though the flight path put us in the perfect alignment to get close-ups of the mountain, I favored this view. The sun had just about set, so most of the terrain was in darkness, except for Mount Hood and its snow-capped glow. It appeared as though it was afloat of everything else. At the same time, I felt afloat of it.

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Afloat.”