When I first saw this challenge’s title and the words, “Let’s split our photos in two”, I thought there was no way I was going to have anything to add to the category.  I distinctly remember my teacher’s words, “Don’t ever place the horizon in the middle of the viewfinder, you’ll end up with boring pictures”.

I found one shot that I like that fit the category, and posted that earlier.  As I was going through my files this week, I came across another, then another, and yet some more.  Seems I wasn’t heeding the advice so well.  I’m sorry teacher, I think this was one rule that can be broken on occasion, because I like these.

I came across a few where rivers were against canyon walls, but the one I like best is this one from Zion National Park, Utah, where the river’s edge cuts the shot in two vertically:

Along the river's edge, Zion Narrows, Zion National Park, Utah by Steve Bruno
Along the river’s edge, Zion Narrows, Zion National Park, Utah by Steve Bruno

In Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado in early summer, as the snow was still melting, I came across this snowbridge, which dissected this image in two:

Snowbridge in Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado as sunrise lights up distant peaks by Steve Bruno
Snowbridge in Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado as sunrise lights up distant peaks by Steve Bruno

In Bryce Canyon, Utah I shot this approaching thunderstorm over the horizon:

Summer thunderstorm moving in on Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah by Steve Bruno
Summer thunderstorm moving in on Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah by Steve Bruno

Also in Utah, I found this cactus in bloom in the desert south of Moab.  The mountains beyond are over 12,000 feet in elevation, their tops are above treeline.  So, half desert/half alpine terrain:

desert in bloom below the LaSal Mtns, near Moab, Utah by Steve Bruno
desert in bloom below the LaSal Mtns, near Moab, Utah by Steve Bruno

In a similar fashion, but further north, near Yellowstone National Park’s northeast entrance, the snow level made this a half-and-half:

late-spring snowfall on the mountains of southern Montana by Steve Bruno
late-spring snowfall on the mountains of southern Montana by Steve Bruno

A little closer to home, I shot this one in the Grand Canyon showing close detail as well as distant features:

detail of rimrock at Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona by Steve Bruno
detail of rimrock at Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona by Steve Bruno

Very close to home was this one from earlier in the month on the 4th of July.  Half fireworks/half Stratosphere:

4th of July Fireworks, Las Vegas, Nevada by Steve Bruno
4th of July Fireworks, Las Vegas, Nevada by Steve Bruno

a favorite place of mine that I haven’t been to for a while is Great Sand Dunes National Park in Colorado.  I shot this one on the edge of a dune crest there:

on the edge of a dune at Great Sand Dunes National Park by Steve Bruno
on the edge of a dune at Great Sand Dunes National Park by Steve Bruno

Another old favorite place, the Superstition Mountains of Arizona, yielded this image, “Halfway to the stars”:

the pinnacles of Peralta Canyon, Superstition Wilderness, Arizona as the sun rises by Steve Bruno
the pinnacles of Peralta Canyon, Superstition Wilderness, Arizona as the sun rises by Steve Bruno

Nearby, on the streets of Phoenix, we have half motion/half still buildings.  I almost thought about posting this one for the ROY B GIV challenge:

nighttime movement on the streets of Phoenix, Arizona by Steve Bruno
nighttime movement on the streets of Phoenix, Arizona by Steve Bruno

The featured image on this post was taken near Parker, Arizona.  The dried out desert looked across the river to the mountains in California, where the rain had started to fall.  Here is the uncropped version:

The desert near Parker, Arizona, as it looks across to California by Steve Bruno
The desert near Parker, Arizona, as it looks across to California by Steve Bruno

Also near Parker, Arizona, this one is half spring flowers/half reason why there were spring flowers:

Spring flowers in the desert near Parker, Arizona as another storm approaches by Steve Bruno
Spring flowers in the desert near Parker, Arizona as another storm approaches by Steve Bruno

And finally, Ben Huberman started us out with a half-and-half from Devil’s Tower.  Here is my take on that location:

Devil's Tower rises out of surrounding meadows by Steve Bruno
Devil’s Tower rises out of surrounding meadows by Steve Bruno

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Half and Half.”