Everybody I know locally is ready for summer to be over and done.  I know it’s a desert, and it’s going to be hot, but usually there’s some kind of break by now with some clouds and rain from the southwest’s monsoon season.  Arizona is keeping it to themselves this year, and I’m sure I’ve said it before that I don’t like to take my camera out under these blue (sometimes hazy, smoky, dusty) skies.

There is a bright side to this lack of clouds.  The Perseid Meteor Shower hits its peak in the next couple nights, and this year is supposed to be the most active in 20 years.  The only distraction will be the moon in the skies, but once that has set, expect great viewing.  So all you stargazers, Nevada is the place to watch this event, as we have no weather this summer.  Just don’t get too close to Las Vegas, there’s way too many lights here.

This photo of the night skies from nearby Mount Charleston is my contribution to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness this week.  You can check out her site here.