Last week I had a chance to return to my muse, Valley of Fire State Park.  I had planned to be there for the first light of sunrise, but an accident on the highway had everybody crawling along for a while…before 6am.  When I arrived at the park, the clouds had incredible depth and the first wave of color was ablaze.  The fact that I arrived late turned out to be a blessing in disguise.  My plan was to capture the sunrise further into the park, but I explored in this area instead.  I had been near this small arch before, but never stepped into this spot.  It’s rare when I can’t decide if I prefer a photograph in color or b&w, but I love this shot both ways.  Image captured with in-camera hdr, then simple conversion to b&w.

The color original:

small arch in Valley of Fire State Park, Nevada. Photo by Steve Bruno at gottatakemorepix

This is my addition to Monochrome Madness this week on Leanne Cole’s site.  See what others have posted here.