My final stop on last week’s long day trip was Cathedral Gorge State Park.  It has been a couple years since my last visit, and I wanted to see if my newer photography equipment could provide the results I wasn’t able to achieve previously in the higher contrast sunlight.  Occasional passing clouds provided the softer light which was optimum for some of the shooting situations.

Once an ancient lake, Cathedral Gorge is made up of mostly bentonite clay.  It is not a very large park, but its structure is quite photogenic with a multitude of opportunities.  Where the waters have cut deeper into the clay mesa, there are some very unique slot canyons, which the park labels “canyon caves”.  These are not for the claustrophobic individuals.  They do not travel far, but in many places are less than 2 feet wide, which requires some awkward stepping.

Much of the clay appears very solid and smoothly worn, but in one of these canyon caves, I found the texture to resemble dripping wax.  I patted the clay with my hand in several spots, returning a very hollow sound.  In this section, apparently, it was layer upon layer of “dripping wax”.

looking up from canyon in Cathedral Gorge, Nevada

abstract, detail, erosion, texture